ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Environment

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 16:26 - Updated Thu, 22 Feb 2018 16:26

Strategic Plan foresees creation of new conservation zones

Luanda - The provinces of Huambo, Cuanza Sul, Malanje and Uíge will benefit this year from new conservation areas, under the Angolan Strategic Plan for Protected Areas (PESAP).

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Creation of new conservation zones in country

Photo: Angop

The said plan was presented Thursday to the state institutions and civil society for consultation.

PESAP directs long-term expansion for conservation area systems in Angola to materialise a national biodiversity conservation network.

The initiative is meant to ensure ecological stability, resilience to climate change and the well-being of communities.

It serves to enlighten the role of conservation areas in protection of species and diversification of the economy by promoting efficient and sustainable management of human resources.

The document also aims to ensure the creation of conditions that enable conservation areas to be managed effectively in order to respond to the objectives of its creation.

With an initial ten-year horizon (2018 and 2028), the plan foresees by 2022 an increase of about 12.98 to 17% of protected areas in the national territory, said the director general of the Institute of National Biodiversity and Conservation Areas (INBAC), Aristophanes Pontes.

In addition to the new terrestrial protected areas, in coordination with the Ministry of Fisheries and the Sea, the project will  create 10% of marine protected areas along the Angolan coast with approximately 1,650 kilometers, currently without any protection.

As for marine protected areas, PESAP suggests initially the creation in the national parks of Quiçama (Luanda) and Iona.

Chiloango river estuary (Cabinda), the Sereia peninsula, Soyo (Zaire), the coastal zone of the mouth of the Longa River and the area of ​​Ombaca (Cuanza Sul) and Bentiaba (Namibe), were also suggested by document.

According to the official of Kissama Foundation, Vladmir Russo, one of the objectives is to boost the creation of protected marine areas to enable  sustainability of resources.

Angola has nine national parks. A regional natural  park and four integral natural reserves, covering 12.98 percent of national territory.

Read also