ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Science and Technology

Tue, 17 Apr 2012 17:02 - Updated Tue, 17 Apr 2012 17:02

Centre for adaptation to climate change defined in Windhoek


Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Luanda - The governments of Angola, Botswana, South Africa, Namibia and Zambia will sign on Wednesday, in Windhoek, a joint statement to implement the Southern African Centre for Science and Services for Adaptation to Climate Change and Soil Sustainable Management (Sasscal).

The information was released to ANGOP, at the 4 de Fevereiro international airport in Luanda, by the minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Maria Candida Teixeira, adding that the initiative emerges from the German government and aims to reduce
the effects of climate change in this region of Africa.

The German government initially compromised to support the capacity-building to provide services and research in the region.

According to the Maria Candida Teixeira, the initiative aims primarily to create conditions for the countries included in this project to be prepared to respond effectively to cases of natural disasters.