ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Sports

Mon, 10 Dec 2001 12:59



Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

The Petro de Luanda team wins the Angolan soccer first division championship

Photo: Angop Photo

Luanda, 12/10 - The "Petro de Luanda" team has won the Angolan soccer first division championship (Girabola2001) afterbeating "Inter de Luanda" 2-1 on Sunday here in a match played forthe last but one round of the cup. Coached by Djalma Cavalcanti of Brazil, Petro have thusachieved their second consecutive title in the Angolan firstdivision cup. They opened the score at the 39th minute with a goalheaded in by striker Betinho in a victory confirmed by Avelino Lopesat minute 62.#

Inter reduced the score to 2-1 ten minutes ahead of the end of the play through a goal kicked by Miloy who appeared isolatedin front of the adversary goal-keeper following a quick counter-strike.

The Petro de Luanda reached the round aware of becomingchampion if they won the game but ended up not depending on the victory as their rival ASA lost to +Primeiro de Agosto+ 1-0.

A goal by Lucas at the 2nd minute of the match spoiled ASAhopes who are playing Petro for the last round.

In the other matches of the round played at weekend, "Progresso" lost at home to "Benfica do Lubango" 1-0 whereas the"Academica do Lobito" defeated "Petro do Huambo 2-1. "Sonangol doNamibe" beat FC Cabinda 1-0, and "Sagrada Esperanca" crushed "Benfica de Luanda" 3-2, whilst "FC Bravos do Maqui" beat "Primeirode Maio de Benguela" 1-0.

With these results the three teams to be dropped from thefirst division next season have been defined, namely Progresso, FCBravos do Maqui and De Maio de Benguela.

The three will be replaced in the Girabola2002 by "Sportingde Cabinda", "Desportivo da Huila" and "Sporting do Bie".

With one round towards the end of the championship, Petrohas totalled 56 points followed by ASA with 49 points.

The third place is held by Academica (41) which rose to thefirst division this year to become the revelation of the cup, aheadof Petro do Huambo who come fourth with 39 points.

The bottom is shared by Sonangol do Namibe (29), Progressoand FC Bravos do Maqui all with 24, and 1/0 de Maio de Benguela with21.

For the African competitions of next season, Petro will playin the champions cup, whereas Sonangol do Namibe will be measuringstrengths in the winners cup and ASA in the CAF one.