ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Sports

Mon, 07 Feb 2005 20:46

Football: ASA Win Angola´s Super-Cup


Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

ASA win this year´s edition of Angola SuperCup, after beating Sonangol

Photo: Angop Photo

Luanda, 02/07 - The soccer team of Atletico Sport Aviaçao (ASA) have won this afternoon Angola`s Super-Cup after defeating Sonangol do Namibe by 2-0, in the second leg match disputed at Joaquim Morais Stadium.#

The goals of the game were scored by Raska and Love.

In the first leg match, played at Cidadela National Stadium, in Luanda the current champions beat Sonangol by 3-1.

Thus, with this victory, ASA conquer their fourth Super-Cup, after winning the 1996, 2003 and 2004 editions.

The Super-Cup marks the kick off of the soccer season in Angola and it is challenged by the national champions and the winners of Angola Cup

The national championship first division, nicknamed as Girabola, for 2005, opens on February 19th.

Background of Angola`s Super-Cup:

Year Winner Coach

1988 Petro de Luanda António Clemente (Brazilian)

1992 1º de Agosto Dusan Kondic (Serbian)

1993 Petro de Luanda Goicko Zec (Serbian)

1994 Petro de Luanda Goicko Zec (Serbian)

1995 I. Tômbwa António Lopes "Chiby" (Angolan)

1996 ASA João Machado (Angolan)

1997 1º de Agosto Dusan Kondic (Serbian)

1998 1º de Agosto Ndunguidi Daniel (Angolan)

1999 1º de Luanda Ndunguidi Daniel (Angolan)

2000 1º de Agosto Ndunguidi Daniel (Angolan)

2001 Interclube Itamar Franco (Brazilian).

2002 Petro de Luanda José Roberto Ávila (Brazilian)

2003 ASA Bernardino Pedroto (Portuguese)

2004 ASA Bernardino Pedroto (Portuguese)

2005 ASA Bernardino Pedroto (Portuguese)

The trophy was not disputed in 1989, 1990 and 1991.