ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Sports

Sun, 30 Oct 2016 11:00 - Updated Sun, 30 Oct 2016 11:02

Girabola2016: 1º de Agosto virtual champions

Luanda - The team of 1º de Agosto were crowned this Saturday virtual national champions of Girabola2016 following a 3-0 winning over ASA. breaking a nine-year fast without winning the biggest football championship in Angola.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

1º de Agosto win girabola2016

Photo: Gaspar Dos Santos

In the 29th round game, the goals of current national champions (dethroning Recreativo do Libolo) were scored by Bua, 51 minutes and Ary Papel, twice (89 and in injury time).

The team of "dry river" now sum 66 points against 61 of the runners up Petro de Luanda, which on Saturday played to a goalless against Benfica de Luanda in this penultimate round of the event. The match was played at Coqueiros stadium, in Luanda.

Since winning their first title in 1979 and the last in 2006, the 1º de Agosto club sum now 10 trophies won.

In the last round, the virtual champions will take on Petro de Luanda, in a match that ended in a draw with 49 percent of votes for each team, in an internet survey conducted by the Angola Press Agency - Angop.

Read also