ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Sports

Thu, 26 Jan 2017 10:19 - Updated Thu, 26 Jan 2017 10:41

Girabola2017: Winner of playoff tournament to replace Benfica

Luanda - The Angolan Football Federation (FAF) announced on Wednesday the holding of the five-team playoff tournament in order to find the club that will replace Benfica de Luanda, who suspended their participation in the national first division football Championship (Girabola2017), to start on February 10.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Jeremias Simão, chairman of FAF Sports Technical Board

Photo: Rosario dos Santos

The tournament will be played by the three teams relegated from the previous championship to the second division and two squads of the second league, whose winner will compete in Giraabola2017, in replacement of Benfica.

This was said in a press conference by the head of the FAF technical sports board, Jeremias Simão.

According to him, the competition, dubbed leguilha, has not fixed date yet, but it may take place at any time without hindering the Girabola2017 kick-off.

The teams to compete in the event are Sporting de Cabinda, Domante FC do Bengo, 1º de Maio de Benguela, 4 de Abril do Cuando Cubango  and Porcelana do Cuanza Norte.

According to the FAF official, the holding of the competition depends only on the green light of the clubs who were notified on Tuesday by the technical sports board.

Tags Football  

Read also
  • 04/02/2019 11:09:58

    Afrocup: Petro de Luanda lose in Algeria

    Luanda - Petro de Luanda lost 1-2 on Sunday against Algerian Hussein Dey in the first round of the group stage of the Confederation Cup in soccer for the D-group.

  • 03/02/2019 14:31:49

    GirabolaZap: Maquis end championship’s first leg with draw

    Luena - The FC Bravos do Maquis team last Saturday in their home, in Luena City’s Mundunduleno Stadium, ended with a 1-1 draw with Interclube the 15th and last round of the first leg of the top division football championship (GirabolaZap2018/19).

  • 03/02/2019 12:57:49

    Football: Sagrada's coach commends players on 15th round win

    Dundo -The head-coach of Sagrada Esperança team, Agostinho Tramagal, last Saturday commended his players on the good posture and attitude in their 2-1 victory over Desportivo da Huila, which counts for the 15th and last round of the first leg of the top division football championship (GirabolaZap2018/19).

  • 01/02/2019 19:14:40

    Afrocup: Petro on way to Algeria

    Luanda - With the absence of midfielder Job confirmed, with back injury, Petro de Luanda travelled Friday afternoon to Algeria, where they will play Hussein Dey, in the match of the first round of Group-D of the Confederation Cup in soccer.