ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Culture

Fri, 04 May 2018 18:05 - Updated Fri, 04 May 2018 18:05

Angola: New candidatures for world heritage announced

Luanda - Angola is preparing for the inclusion of Cuito Cuanavale in south-east province of Cuando Cubango, Tchitundo Hulo Rock Complex (southwest Namibe) and Kwanza Corridor, for the World Heritage list.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Vice President, Bornito de Sousa

This was announced Friday in Luanda by the Vice President of Republic, Bornito de Sousa when delivering speech at the opening of the 1st Ordinary Meeting of the National Multi-sector Commission for Protection of World Cultural Heritage.

Highlighting Cuito Cuanavale role, Bornito de Sousa explained that the site was the scene of one of the greatest battles in contemporary history.

He spoke of historical character and symbolism of the site for Angola, Southern Africa and the world.

While the Tchitundo Hulo Rock Complex, the official considered one of the most valuable cultural treasures in Angola, due to the quality of its engravings that date back more than four thousand years.

Kwanza Corridor deserves the recognition because of its dynamics along the river with the same name and the use of its route to the introduction of Christianity and the construction of colonial politico-military institutions.

He announced the creation of a Technical Commission tasked with preparing the candidatures of the three sites.

According to a communiqué, the Commission also analysed the proposed restoration of monuments and the construction of new memorials that symbolise national history, culture and tradition.

Created under Presidential Order 25/18 of March 5, National Multi-sector Commission for the Safeguarding of World Cultural Heritage, is coordinated by Vice President of the Republic, assisted by the Minister of Culture.

The Commission's objective includes promoting the implementation of conservation programmes and the participatory management of the national cultural heritage, in accordance with international conventions and treaties.

The Commission also comprises minister of Culture (deputy coordinator), ministers of Interior, Foreign Affairs, Territory Administration and State Reform, Tourism, Construction and Public Works and Media.

Ministers of Planning of Territory and Housing, Environment, Fisheries and Sea, Higher Education, Science, Technology and Innovation and Education, also join the list.

It also includes the Secretaries of the President of the Republic for Social Affairs, Regional and Local Affairs, the Economic and Social Advisor of the Vice-President of the Republic, the Director General of the National Institute of Cultural Heritage and Representative of the National Commission of UNESCO.

Tags Angola  

Read also