ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Tue, 02 Feb 2010 20:01 - Updated Tue, 02 Feb 2010 20:01

14th African Union Summit ends

Addis Ababa

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Addis Ababa – The 14th Ordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government of the African Union (AU) closed Tuesday in Addis Ababa, with a ceremony presided over by the organisation’s acting president, Bingu Wa Mutharika, from Malawi.

In his address, Mutharika underlined that Africa has a number of priorities that need attention if the continent is to develop.

He said the African leaders must look to the priorities, to the detriment of other concerns, starting with a strong programme of food security, aiming at fighting famine in coming years. 

The AU president recommended Africa to focus on agriculture and food security.

Bingu Wa Mutharika urged the members countries of the organisation to make a contribution to the development of the capacity to generate energy for the industries and the populations.

He said the African Commission is expected to draft, at a short term, a Plan of Action for the project to be implemented.

He said the year 2010 has been celebrated as the year of peace, but this (peace) is still to be attained, appealing for a combination of effort towards solutions to the political crises in the continent.

On the other hand, the Addis Ababa AU meeting condemned the January 21 terrorist attack by members of the Angolan Cabinda Enclave Liberation Front (FLEC) on Togo’s national team of football heading for their participation in the Orange Africa Cup of Nations (Angola2010).

The AU has thus reaffirmed that terrorism is an abominable and condemned act that aims to destabilise peace and security of peoples.

In this regard, the Summit invoked the principles contained in the AU Constituting Act, in the organisation’s 1999 Convention on Prevention and Combat against Terrorism and the 2004 Protocol.