ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Tue, 16 Aug 2011 15:52 - Updated Wed, 17 Aug 2011 10:47

Political administrative division of Benguela, Huila approved


Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Parliament approves law on political, administrative division of Benguela and Huila provinces

Luanda – Angolan Parliament Tuesday here approved, in speciality the law on changing of the structure of political and administrative division of the southern provinces of Benguela and Huíla.

The MPs voted unanimously the document during the IV Extraordinary session of the III Legislative of National Assembly (AN), presided over by the speaker, António Paulo Kassoma.

The law stipulates that the current communes of Catumbela, in Benguela, and Cacula (Huíla), be raised to the category of districts, as well as definition of the correspondent infra-districts territory boundary.

To this purpose, the headquarters of Catumbela district carries the same name, while in Cacula (Huila), Cacula respectively.

The proposal was an initiative of the Angolan president , José Eduardo dos Santos, as the head of the Government, under the articles 120º and 167º of the country's Constitution.