ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Wed, 16 Jan 2013 10:12 - Updated Wed, 16 Jan 2013 10:12

Defence minister highlights Angola's regional performance


Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Montevideo – The Angolan Defence minister, Cândido Pereira Van-Dúnem,  Tuesday in Montevideo (Uruguay), highlighted the country’s performance at international and regional levels, regarding actions within the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) and the Economic Community of Central Africa States (ECCAS).

The minister was speaking during the presentation of a report at the opening of the 7th South Atlantic Peace and Cooperation Zone (ZPCA) Ministerial Meeting, underlining the participation of the country in the Permanent Maritime Committee.

He also highlighted the hosting of joint military exercises with Namibia, rescue missions and training of maritime traffic control operators.

The official also mentioned the actions carried out together with ECCAS, in the framework of the South Atlantic, Gulf of Guinea, mapping of the sea bed and fight against piracy, illegal trade of firearms.

According to the minister, Angola has implemented programmes that led to the disarming of civilians and seizure of 80,000 firearms.

The 7th ZPCA Ministerial Meeting whose chair has now moved to Uruguay, is closing on Wednesday and is expected to adopt a Plan of Action and the Montevideo Declaration, including other documents on Guinea-Bissau and Democratic Republic of Congo.

Angola is attending the Montevideo meeting with a delegation headed by the Foreign minister, and includes the Defence minister, Cândido Van-Dúnem, the ambassadors of Angola to the United Nations in New York and to Brazil.

ZPCA is a forum for dialogue and concert for peace, security and cooperation on the South Atlantic. It groups Angola, Argentine, South Africa, Benin, Brazil, Cape  Verde, Cameroon, Congo, DRC, Cote D'Ivoire, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Conakry, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Namibia, Nigeria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal Sierra Leone,  Togo and Uruguay.