ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Thu, 20 Feb 2014 15:45 - Updated Thu, 20 Feb 2014 15:46

President accredits seven ambassadors

Luanda - The President of the Republic José Eduardo dos Santos, received, Thursday, in Luanda, the credentials of the ambassadors of France, Turkey, United Kingdom, Cape Verde, the Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic, Ukraine and Ireland.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

President José Eduardo dos Santos (right) receives credential letters from French ambassador

Photo: Francisco Miúdo

They are ambassadors Jean - Claude Moyret (France ) , Ahmet Ihsan Kiziltan (Turkey ) , John David Dennis ( UK ) , Francisco Pereira da Veiga ( Cape Verde ) , Malainine Sadik - Bachir (Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic ), Oleksandr Nykonenko (Ukraine) and Ruari de Burca (Ireland).

The last two diplomats have non-resident status.

 After the delivery of legal instruments that enable them to performing the duties in the country, diplomats, separately held courtesy meetings with the Head of State.

 Speaking to the press after accreditation, the ambassador of France, Jean - Claude Moyret said that diplomatic relations between the two states enjoy good times, "as confirmed by the recent visit to Angola by the French Minister of Foreign Affairs, which did not happen for ten years."

"I will try to add something new in relation with Angola and to follow up the good work done by the ambassadors before me, therefore I will work to match with the expectations," said the ambassador of Cape Verde, Francisco Pereira da Veiga, while speaking to press .

The ceremony was attended by advisors to the President and senior officials of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Read also