ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Tue, 14 Nov 2017 17:48 - Updated Tue, 14 Nov 2017 17:48

Angola: Parliament sets up specialised working commissions

Luanda - The National Assembly (AN) approved Tuesday the draft resolution on numerical and nominal composition of ten specialised working commissions and their chairpersons.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

During the vote in the house

Photo: Alberto Julião

This was during the 1st ordinary plenary session of the IV Legislature of National Assembly, chaired by Parliament speaker, Fernando da Piedade Dias dos Santos.

However, the election's winning MPLA party is in charge of the first seven commissions, followed by the main opposition UNITA with the eighth and tenth commissions.

The third placed CASA-CE heads the ninth commission.

The first commission deals with Constitutional and Legal matters, the second tasked with Defense, National Security, Internal Order and Former Combatants.

The third on Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Angolan Communities Abroad.

While the fourth in charge of the Administration of State and Local Power.

Still, the fifth commission is linked to Economy and Finance affairs, the sixth on Health, Education, Higher Education Science and Technology.

The seventh commission in charge of Culture, Religious Affairs, Media, Youth and Sports.

The Family, Childhood and Social Action issues are under the responsibility of the eighth commission.

The ninth commission with the Ethics and Parliamentary Decree, whereas the 10th commission deals with Human Rights, Petitions, Citizen's Complaints and Suggestions.

Meanwhile, the ruling MPLA party MPs

Joaquim Reis Júnior, Roberto Leal Monteiro, Josefina Pitra Diakité, Virgílio Tyova, Diógenes de Oliveira, Manuel da Cruz Neto and Paulo Pombolo have been appointed to lead  the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh commissions, respectively.

Clarice Mukinda (UNITA), Justino Pinto de Andrade (CASA-CE) and Raúl Danda  (UNITA) in charge of  eighth, ninth and tenth commissions.

Read also
  • 08/11/2018 08:44:15

    Parliament starts 2019 State Budget discussions on 14 November

    Luanda - The 2019 Draft State Budget, amounted at 11.2 billion kwanzas, will be analysed and voted on, in its general terms, in the First Extraordinary Plenary Meeting of the National Assembly (Angolan Parliament), scheduled for 14 November.

  • 05/11/2018 17:08:01

    Angola, Spain plan to deepen cooperation

    Luanda - Angola and Spain are preparing to strengthen bilateral cooperation in the area of security and internal order, according to a press note from the Ministry of Interior that reached Angop Monday.

  • 03/11/2018 12:56:12

    Angola joins UN committee on budgetary issues

    New York - An Angolan diplomat Makiese Kinkela Augusto has been elected in New York member of the 2019-2021 Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ).

  • 02/11/2018 13:47:15

    Head of State meets representatives of Angolan business associations

    The representatives of the Farming Association of Angola (AAPA) participated, Association of Companies of Modern Trade and Distribution of Angola (ECODIMA), Association of Road and Road Transportation Equipment Dealers (ACETRO) and the Association of Hotels and Resorts of Angola (AHRA).