ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Tue, 27 Mar 2018 19:06 - Updated Wed, 28 Mar 2018 10:21

Migration service to speed up visa exemption procedure

Luanda - The Migration and Foreigners Service (SME) has created technical and human conditions to ensure the implementation of exemption and speed up procedures of administrative actions for granting of tourist visas to the citizens of 61 countries, starting from 30th this month.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

1 / 1

Ministers Ângelo Tavares (R.) and Augusto Tomás

Photo: Lino Guimarães

Director general of SME, Gil Famoso da Silva

Photo: Lino Guimarães

The information was released on Tuesday by the SME director general, Gil Famoso da Silva, noting that the country's border check points are ready to welcome those people, under the Presidential Decree 56/18 of 28 February.

In order to meet this goal, the Migration Department has created a web platform through which those interested can have access.

The procedure will enable them to get, within72 hours,  a pre-visa that guarantees, on arrival in Angolan soil, the stay up to 30 days by entrance and 90 days a year.

The citizens of the countries covered by the simplification of the administrative acts could request this permission from the consulates of Angola abroad.

The official was speaking to the press, on the sidelines of the visit by the Angolan Interior Minister Ângelo Tavares to the room for issuing tourism visas at Luanda airport.

He described the system as the most appropriate one, in view of the coming of high number of tourists.

The Head of State decreed a visa-free to five countries, namely Botswana, Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe and Singapore.

The procedure also include citizens from 35 countries, under the Law on the Legal System of Foreigners of Republic of Angola.

Of the covered countries, nine are of African continent, with stress to Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Cabo Verde, São Tomé and Príncipe, Morocco, Swaziland, Algeria and Zambia.

Eight of America (Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cuba, United State and Venezuela) seven of Asia (South Korea, United Arab Emirates, China, India, Indonesia, Israel and Japan).

Australia, New Zealand and East Timor are the three States of Oceania covered by the simplification mechanism for administrative acts.

Read also
  • 22/01/2019 17:03:42

    SME expel over 2000 illegal foreigners

    Luanda - The Migration and Foreigners Service (SME) have expelled 2.248 citizens of different nationalities last week by administrative and judicial decision, plus 1,200 deportations in relation to the previous week.

  • 22/01/2019 11:21:47

    Migration Service with nearly 20,000 passports to be delivered

    Luanda - At least 20,000 passports issued by the Migration and Foreigners Service (SME) are to be delivered all over the country, said on Monday to Angop, a source from the Home Ministry (Minint).

  • 14/01/2019 16:18:19

    Over 1,000 illegal immigrants expelled

    Luanda - At least 1,430 foreign nationals were expelled out of the country between January 2 and 9 of this year, representing 360 more expulsions compared to the previous week.

  • 30/12/2018 11:54:25

    Home Ministry reinforces commitment to prisoners' vocational training

    Lubango - The delegation of the Home Ministry (Minint) in central Huíla province will reinforce its commitment to the vocational training of the prisoners in 2019 to elevate their workforce potential and involve them in productive activities, as part of the criminal reeducation process.