ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Sun, 09 Sep 2018 11:15 - Updated Sun, 09 Sep 2018 11:15

MPLA recognizes first presidents

Luanda - The 6th MPLA Extraordinary Congress, held Saturday in Luanda, recognized the first two presidents of the party, Ilídio Machado and Mário Pinto de Andrade.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

João Lourenço elected fith MPLA President

Photo: Angop

In this sense, the conclave, according to its final resolution, decided that the MPLA should honor, in due course, the two political individualities, as well as others that were at the genesis of political party.

The MPLA now officially has five presidents in its history, namely Ilídio Machado, Mário Pinto de Andrade, Agostinho Neto, José Eduardo dos Santos and, henceforth, João Lourenço.

Ilídio Tomé Alves Machado was the first president of the MPLA until he was arrested in 1959 for subversive activities against the Portuguese regime at that time.

As for Mário Pinto de Andrade, he became a political activist in the 1960s and served as MPLA president between 1959 and 1962 and his secretary general between 1962 and 1972.

Due to the imprisonment, Agostinho Neto was honorary president of the party since 1961, having assumed effective leadership of MPLA in 1963, in Kinshasa, capital of the then Zaire, now Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

Neto held MPLA chairmanship until his death in September 1979, the month in which José Eduardo dos Santos took the lead, which ended on September 8, 2018.

From now on, the destinies of MPLA and Angola will be in the hands of João Lourenço, the fifth president of the party and the third of the Republic.

Tags Angola   Congresso   MPLA  

Read also
  • 08/11/2018 08:44:15

    Parliament starts 2019 State Budget discussions on 14 November

    Luanda - The 2019 Draft State Budget, amounted at 11.2 billion kwanzas, will be analysed and voted on, in its general terms, in the First Extraordinary Plenary Meeting of the National Assembly (Angolan Parliament), scheduled for 14 November.

  • 05/11/2018 17:08:01

    Angola, Spain plan to deepen cooperation

    Luanda - Angola and Spain are preparing to strengthen bilateral cooperation in the area of security and internal order, according to a press note from the Ministry of Interior that reached Angop Monday.

  • 03/11/2018 12:56:12

    Angola joins UN committee on budgetary issues

    New York - An Angolan diplomat Makiese Kinkela Augusto has been elected in New York member of the 2019-2021 Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ).

  • 02/11/2018 13:47:15

    Head of State meets representatives of Angolan business associations

    The representatives of the Farming Association of Angola (AAPA) participated, Association of Companies of Modern Trade and Distribution of Angola (ECODIMA), Association of Road and Road Transportation Equipment Dealers (ACETRO) and the Association of Hotels and Resorts of Angola (AHRA).