ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Tue, 19 Nov 2019 19:27 - Updated Tue, 19 Nov 2019 19:49

Over 15 African Ministers at PSC meeting in Luanda

Addis Ababa - At least eighty entities, including 15 foreign ministers from the African Union Peace and Security Council (PSC) Member States, plus those from Mali, Niger, CAR and DRC will be at the opening session of the meeting of that body, which Luanda hosts on 5 December.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Angola envoy to African Union and UNEC for Africa, Francisco da Cruz (file)

Photo: Lino Guimarães

This information was released on Monday in Addis Ababa by the Permanent Representative of Angola to the African Union and United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Francisco da Cruz, at a PSC session on the preparation of the ministerial event, taking place in Luanda.

Under the motto, “National Reconciliation, Peace Restoration, Security and Reconstruction of Cohesion in Africa”, the event will mark the beginning of Angola's rotating presidency of the PSC.

To convey the experiences of their countries related to the theme of the meeting, the heads of diplomacy of Mali, Niger, CAR, DRC, as well as Algeria and Rwanda (members of the PSC) were invited to the Open Session.

Before the closed session, the event will also be addressed by the African Union Commission Commissioner for Peace and Security, Smail Chergui.

Francisco da Cruz emphasized that the Luanda meeting arises within the framework of the AU policy on Post Conflict Reconstruction and Development, leading to comprehensive policies and strategies of peacebuilding and promotion of sustainable development.

Angola's current mandate (elected January 2018) ends in March 2020.

The Peace and Security Council, the main body charged with guaranteeing peace and security on the continent, has 14 other states, namely Algeria, Burundi, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Togo and Zimbabwe.

Tags Política  

Read also
  • 19/11/2019 13:39:34

    General Sá Miranda reaffirms FAA rejuvenation

    Luena - The Army commander, General Gouveia João de Sá Miranda, defended last Monday in Luena, eastern Moxico Province, the continuous rejuvenation of the Angolan Armed Forces (FAA), to guarantee the country’s tranquillity.

  • 19/11/2019 10:08:53

    2020 State Budget debate begins Tuesday

    Luanda - The 2020 State General Budget (OGE) Draft, which foresees expenses and revenues of just over 15.8 billion kwanzas, will go through general discussion and vote in the National Assembly (parliament) this Tuesday.

  • 18/11/2019 18:14:51

    CPLP Justice Ministers debate cyber crimes

    Luanda - The 16th Conference of Justice Ministers of the Organization of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP) to be held on 22 November, in Cape Verde, will discuss about Cybercrime and electronic proof as challenges for criminal justice and the rule of law of the Organization.