ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Fri, 31 Jul 2020 08:21 - Updated Fri, 31 Jul 2020 08:21

Angolan diplomat chairs ECCAS Commission

Luanda - The Angolan diplomat Gilberto Veríssimo took over this Thursday the rotating presidency of the Commission of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), after being confirmed in the post by the Heads of State and Government of the regional organization.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send


The candidacy of Ambassador Gilberto Veríssimo was approved, by consensus, last Monday, during the XII Special Session of the ECCAS Council of Ministers.

Thursday, during the XVII Regular Session of the Conference of Heads of State and Government of the organization, which took place by videoconference, the Angolan diplomat was unanimously elected for a five-year term.

The President of the Republic, João Lourenço, participated in the meeting, which was attended by the 11 Heads of State and Government of the member countries of the Community.

The new president of the ECCAS Commission, senior staff of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, is 60 years old and holds a PhD in Social Sciences and Strategic Studies.

In the last five years he has served as Deputy Executive Secretary for Political Affairs of the Gulf of Guinea Commission (GGC).

The vice-presidency of the Commission fell to the Equato-Guinean diplomat Tatchouo Belope Francisca.

The selection of the members of the Commission takes place within the framework of the reform of the ECCAS, decided by the Heads of State and Government, which also led to the revision of the organisation's Treaty.

ECCAS was founded in Libreville, Gabon in 1983, and its objectives are to promote cooperation and self-sustaining development, with particular emphasis on economic stability and improving the quality of life of the region's population.

The 11 Member States of the Economic Community of Central African States are Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and São Tomé and Príncipe.

Read also
  • 08/05/2020 08:50:48

    UNITA defends better Covid-19 testing

    Luanda - The leader of the main opposition party UNITA, Adalberto Costa Júnior Thursday here defended improvements in the testing system for Covid-19 in Angola, in order to assess the extent of the pandemic on national territory.

  • 08/05/2020 08:16:04

    Council of Republic backs extension of State of Emergency

    Luanda - The Council of the Republic Thursday recommended the extension of the State of Emergency in order to contain the spread of Covid-19, a pandemic that has infected 36 people in Angola since last March.

  • 25/03/2020 14:22:38

    COVID-19: Council of Republic recommends state of emergency

    Luanda - Angola's Council of the Republic (CR) Wednesday in Luanda suggested to the head of State that a state of emergency should be adopted in the country in order to ensure the prevention and combat of the new Coronavirus.