ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Sun, 09 Aug 2020 10:18 - Updated Sun, 09 Aug 2020 10:18

Angola attends SADC Heads of State and Government Summit

Luanda - Angola participates on the August 17, by videoconference, in the 40th Ordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send


Under the slogan "SADC - 40 Years Building Peace and Security and Promoting Development and Resilience in the Face of Global Challenges", Angola participates with a delegation headed by the Head of State, João Lourenço.

Given the difficulties created by the Covid-19 pandemic, the summit and the meetings that precede it will be held by videoconference, with an agenda centered on the handing over of the SADC acting president's badge to the future president and on institutional matters such as the presentation of the report of the outgoing president of the cooperation body in the areas of politics, defence and security, the analysis of the socio-economic impact of the coronavirus and its implications for the region.

The Republic of Mozambique will host the virtual meetings as the future acting president of the regional economic bloc.

The SADC Summit is responsible for the overall policy orientation and monitoring of community functions, making it a supreme decision-making institution on the organization's projects.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Téte António, participates, at 07h30 (Angola time) next Thursday, in the session of the Council of Ministers, to finalize the documents to be considered by the Heads of State and Government.

Created on August 17, 1992, in Windhoek, the Southern African Development Community aims to promote growth and sustainable economic development, alleviate poverty, increase the quality of life of the peoples of the region and provide aid to the most disadvantaged people.

The organisation is made up of 16 states, namely Angola, South Africa, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Comoros, E-swatini (former Swaziland), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Tags Política  

Read also
  • 06/08/2020 14:09:35

    Parliamentary year closes on August 14

    Luanda - The National Assembly (AN) holds on the 14th of this month the solemn session to close the third legislative session of the IV Legislature, with the opposition claiming the approval of the draft law on the Institutionalization of local power.

  • 06/08/2020 11:17:10

    Judge advocates more "practical classes" for future magistrates

    Luanda - The Counsellor Judge of the Constitutional Court, Luzia Sebastião, considered it fundamental that the training of magistrates in Angola should have a more practical and less theoretical basis, in order to allow these professionals to be better prepared for the work they will perform.

  • 05/08/2020 14:13:25

    MPs pass draft law on media supervision body

    Luanda - The MPs of the Seventh Committee for Culture, Religious Affairs, Mass Media, Youth and Sports of the National Assembly (AN) last Tuesday approved, with 36 votes in favor, one against and no abstention the proposal for a Law on the Activity of the Regulatory Entity of the Mass Media of Angola (ERCA).