ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Health

Mon, 01 Apr 2019 17:53 - Updated Mon, 01 Apr 2019 17:54

Elisa Gaspar new chairwoman of Physicians Association

Luanda - The pediatrician-neonatologist Elisa Gaspar won in 15 of the 18 provinces the election for the position of chairwoman of the Angolan Medical Association.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

Elisa Gaspar - New chairperson of Doctors Order of Angola (file)

Photo: Lino Guimaraes

According to the chairperson of the national electoral commission of the Angolan Medical Association, Matadi Daniel, although the definitive data are confirmed Tuesday (April 2), Elisa Gaspar can already be considered technically winner of the election.

Matadi Daniel said that although the counting and recounting of the votes continues, together with the original minutes, the provisional results presented will not be altered.

Elisa Gaspar of List C, who led the counting of the votes with 45.5 percent, was surpassed in the provinces of Luanda, Lunda Norte and Bié by the candidates Mário Fresta, from List A, who was in second position with 37.7 percent of votes, Miguel Bettencourt and José Luís Pascoal, respectively, third and fourth positioned.

In Luanda, considered the largest electoral zone, the four candidates together obtained only 21.5 percent of the votes, judging by the large voter abstention rate, estimated at 79.5 percent.

The Angolan Medical Association is an institution of public law, which enjoys legal personality, administrative, financial and patrimonial autonomy, of national scope ".

Tags Saúde  

Read also